Live-Action Beauty and the Beast Review

Okay, so I’ve got some really mixed feelings about this. Beauty and the Beast has always been one of my favorite Disney movies, so naturally I was super duper excited when I found out this was being made. The first time I heard about it, I immediately told my boyfriend we had to go see it, and that was like a year ago.


I’ve been so excited, not only because duh, it’s Beauty and the Beast, but because duh, Emma Watson. I’ve grown up reading and watching the Harry Potter series, and I know she killed her role as Hermione Granger. Honestly when I discovered she was going to be playing the leading role of Belle, I was hesitant. I didn’t know if I would be able to believe her as Belle, since shes always been Hermione to me. Within the first five minutes of her being onscreen, every worry evaporated. She is an exceptional actor. She completely embodied everything I could imagine a real life Belle being; compassionate, bright, and fearless. But, the Beauty and the Beast is a musical and I knew she had to sing at some point. With all the fuss about this movie in the past few months, I expected to be blown away by her voice. I know the animated feature pretty well, so I was ready when the first song arrived. Unfortunately, the first thing I noticed was how heavily auto tuned her voice was. But not everyone can sing as beautifully as Paige O’Hara (who was specifically selected to play Belle in the original movie due to her unique voice).

One of the absolute best things about this new movie is the Computer Graphics (CG). Whether or not you’re into Disney princess movies, you should totally see this in cinemas. The CG was phenomenal. The castles’ characters and all of the backdrops were absolutely stunning. There wasn’t one scene in the whole movie that wasn’t breathtaking. I was shocked over, and over at how life-like it all was. I probably should have expected the CG to be top-notch, considering the original was the first animated movie to ever be nominated for the Academy Award for Best Picture.

Despite all of this, it took me until the day after viewing the movie to really appreciate what I saw. It was hard because I love the animated version, I love alimg_1577-1l of the voices of the original actors, and everything else about the original. While I was watching the current movie couldn’t get over its’ differences from the original. The live-action film was so close to the animated in the script and song, so it dramatically stood out to me when something was just slightly modified. Honestly it was rather annoying. There would be an entire conversation exactly following the script of the original, and then they would change one tiny part just enough to where I could notice. It was so frustrating. I cant say anymore without giving out spoilers, but basically it seemed like there were several unnecessary plot changes made simply to distinguish this movie from the previous one.


THE BOTTOM LINE

You definitely need to see this movie in the cinema. The theatrics and actors far exceeded expectations, and make it well worth the cost of attending. If you’re a Disney fanatic like myself, I recommend you ignore all the differences and similarities between the two movies. Basically, just forget everything you know about the 1991 film while watching the live-action one so that you can fully appreciate it. I made that mistake while watching it and was left kinda disappointed with the script. The best way to enjoy this is to think about it as its own, not a remake. Overall the movie was great and I will defiantly be buying it when it comes out on Blu-ray, yet still, remakes are never as good as the original.

BN💟

Let me know what you think about Beauty and the Beast by leaving a reply in the comments below!

***All images taken from http://www.imdb.com/ , please don’t sue me***

 

Leave a Reply

